There’s Just Something About the Mountains

I’m a terrible blogger guys, I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a while!

But in attempt to catch you up on my life, March has been crazy! A lot of great things as well as a lot of not so great things have happened this month.

1.) I officially signed a lease with two of my favorite people for an apartment. It’s time to get this adulting thing really started! (I promise to blog about the move and the decorating!) I couldn’t be more excited to start this chapter in life.

2.) Classes are nuts at the moment and I’m kind of freaking out that I have to sign up for my fall 2016 classes already. Scary thoughts!

3.) I not only gained a job, but also quit one. Literally within a week of each other. That makes me sound like a terrible person, but let me explain. I had a job (I’m not naming names or places.) but it was a decent job. However, I just absolutely couldn’t stand it. I don’t really know why, but do you ever just have those things you just can’t handle and there’s really no explanation as to why? Yeah. This was one of those moments. So anyhoo,  I decided I needed to get rid of that feeling and not continue at that place of work. Luckily for me, a place that I wasn’t supposed to start until the summer called me and wanted me to start there and it’s such a lovely job! I enjoy it to the fullest, even if it doesn’t have cute cuddly animals 😦

4.) I went to Colorado for spring break! It was such an amazing experience! I wish there was more to describe it, but it was honestly just amazing. We (my boyfriend and I) stayed with some family friends of his and they were the loveliest of hosts to us. I finally had the chance to take some photography with my new(ish) camera! It’s been so long since I’ve had the chance to go out and do that. Here’s kind of a play by play.

So on the first day we hopped on an airplane at 6 in the morning. I actually really enjoy early morning flights because the airports aren’t super chaotic and scary. We landed in Denver and met up with the person we were staying with. By this time I was a little nervous, because I’m from Wisconsin and let’s face it, Wisconsin is flat. So I was nervous about getting altitude sickness the entire time. But I felt fine and was just tired from being up since like 3:30am. We just hung out a lot during the week, but it was great.

We went up to Brecken Ridge ski resort on the third day there and this is where our trip got interesting. I’ve never been in elevations over 2,000 ft. So as you can imagine, I got altitude sickness…

It was one of the scariest and weirdest things I’ve ever experienced. I was fine for the first 4 hours we were there. We were just walking around the absolutely ADORABLE ski town and I couldn’t have felt better. It was snowy and cold but I was so excited just to be there. However, we went to sit in the car (this is my boyfriend’s friend I’m with the whole time. He happened to have a broken leg and couldn’t snowboard with Mike unfortunately. So he was stuck with me all day while Mike was on the mountain.) I started getting super tired. At this point my anxiety also started to kick in because I started thinking about the altitude problems I could potentially experience. This was my first mistake. My second mistake was not eating much the whole time we were there. Sure I was drinking plenty of water, but I had only eaten a small granola bar for breakfast. That’s when the altitude sickness really started. I got so nauseous and felt like I was going to throw up at any minute. I also started getting short of breath and my chest started to ache. Over all my altitude sickness was only mild, I don’t want to know what severe would have felt like. I did end up taking some oxygen to make myself feel better (the family actually had a small tank of oxygen in the car, lucky me!) and we ended up cutting our day in the mountains short. It was still nothing short of wonderful though.

On the 4th day we explored Colorado Springs and the Garden of the Gods. It was a beautiful day there! Sunny, a slight chill in the air, but a gorgeous view of Pike’s Peak none the less. We took some photos, walked around and went to a cute little diner for lunch.

We did some other small things on the trip but it’s not that exciting so I’ll save the boring details for myself. Colorado was great and I can’t wait to go back again. Maybe next time, I’ll kick the mountain’s butt instead of it kicking mine! 😉

Until next time-

Desiree

 

Leave a Reply

